Skip to content
Tick Mark Books

Accounting, bookkeeping and tax apps for freelancers

Updated 29 October 202626 prices checked 26–29 October 2026Reviewed by the Tick Mark Books editorial team

All Freelancers and the self-employed tools

We compare 26 accounting, bookkeeping and tax apps for freelancers as of October 2026. Pennylane has the lowest paid entry price, from about $7.82 a month. 11 have a free plan.

What the 26 offer

YesNo

Each cell is one tool

October in accounting, bookkeeping and tax apps for freelancers

See where each price was read
Prices checked
26 of 26 tools, on their own pricing pages
Last checked
29 Oct oldest check 26 Oct
Accounting, bookkeeping and tax apps for freelancers compared
ToolPrice on its siteMCP serverAPIOpen sourceSelf-host
Inkle?MCP ?API ?OPEN ?SELF
Free, then $30 a month
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
ZipBooks?MCP ?API ?OPEN ?SELF
Free, then $15 a month
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
Wave?MCP ?API ?OPEN ?SELF
Free, then $19 a month
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
QuickBooks Solopreneur?MCP ?API ?OPEN ?SELF
Free, then $20 a month
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
Zoho Books?MCP ?API ?OPEN ?SELF
Free, then $20 a month
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
doola?MCP ?API ?OPEN ?SELF
From $297 a year
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
FreeAgent?MCP ?API ?OPEN ?SELF
From about $13 a month
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
Xero?MCP ?API ?OPEN ?SELF
From $27 a month
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
Akaunting?MCP ?API ?OPEN ?SELF
Free, then $12 a month
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
fileLedger by fileAI?MCP ?API ?OPEN ?SELF
From $13 a month
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
FreshBooks?MCP ?API ?OPEN ?SELF
From $23 a month
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
Sage Accounting?MCP ?API ?OPEN ?SELF
From about $27 a month
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
Digits?MCP ?API ?OPEN ?SELF
From $65 a month
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
Pennylane?MCP ?API ?OPEN ?SELF
From about $7.82 a month
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
SimpleAI?MCP ?API ?OPEN ?SELF
From $79 a month
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
Dext?MCP ?API ?OPEN ?SELF
From $31.50 a month
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
DocuClipper?MCP ?API ?OPEN ?SELF
From $29 a month
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
Everlance?MCP ?API ?OPEN ?SELF
Free, then $10.99 a month
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
Expensify?MCP ?API ?OPEN ?SELF
Free, then $5 a seat a month
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
FlyFin?MCP ?API ?OPEN ?SELF
From $20 a month
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
Keeper?MCP ?API ?OPEN ?SELF
From $20 a month
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
Melio?MCP ?API ?OPEN ?SELF
Free, then $25 a month
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
Shoeboxed?MCP ?API ?OPEN ?SELF
From $9 a month
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
SnapTax?MCP ?API ?OPEN ?SELF
Free, then $4.99 a month
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
Synder?MCP ?API ?OPEN ?SELF
From $65 a month
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
Zoho Expense?MCP ?API ?OPEN ?SELF
Free, then $4 a seat a month
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated

tickmarkbooks.com · All 26 accounting, bookkeeping and tax apps for freelancers we list.

Accounting, bookkeeping and tax apps for freelancers, contractors and sole proprietors, priced at what one person working alone pays.

Questions buyers ask

Which tool here costs the least?

11 of the 26 have a free plan: Akaunting, Everlance, Expensify, Inkle and Melio and 6 more. The lowest paid plan is Pennylane, from about $7.82 a month. Price checked on 27 October 2026.

How much do accounting, bookkeeping and tax apps for freelancers cost?

Paid plans run from $4 to $79 a month, across the 25 with a monthly price. The median is $20 a month.

When were these prices checked?

We read each price between 26 October 2026 and 29 October 2026 on the maker's own pricing page.

Sources and method

Cheapest month first, the ledger included; products we could not price at the end. How we rank

Every price was read on the maker's own pricing page.

All 26 sources