Skip to content
Tick Mark Books

Accounting software tools with a free plan

Updated 28 October 202615 prices checked 26–28 October 2026Reviewed by the Tick Mark Books editorial team

Sort
How we rank

15 tools

All Free accounting software tools

We compare 15 accounting software tools with a free plan as of October 2026. FreeAgent has the lowest paid entry price, from about $13 a month. 14 have a free plan.

What the 15 offer

YesNo

Each cell is one tool

October in accounting software tools with a free plan

See where each price was read
Prices checked
15 of 15 tools, on their own pricing pages
Last checked
28 Oct oldest check 26 Oct
Accounting software tools with a free plan compared
ToolPrice on its siteMCP serverAPIOpen sourceSelf-host
Inkle?MCP ?API ?OPEN ?SELF
Free, then $30 a month
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
ZipBooks?MCP ?API ?OPEN ?SELF
Free, then $15 a month
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
Wave?MCP ?API ?OPEN ?SELF
Free, then $19 a month
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
QuickBooks Solopreneur?MCP ?API ?OPEN ?SELF
Free, then $20 a month
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
Zoho Books?MCP ?API ?OPEN ?SELF
Free, then $20 a month
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
FreeAgent?MCP ?API ?OPEN ?SELF
From about $13 a month
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
Akaunting?MCP ?API ?OPEN ?SELF
Free, then $12 a month
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
QuickBooks Online?MCP ?API ?OPEN ?SELF
Free, then $38 a month
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
BILL?MCP ?API ?OPEN ?SELF
Free, then $49 a seat a month
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
Everlance?MCP ?API ?OPEN ?SELF
Free, then $10.99 a month
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
Expensify?MCP ?API ?OPEN ?SELF
Free, then $5 a seat a month
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
Melio?MCP ?API ?OPEN ?SELF
Free, then $25 a month
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
SnapTax?MCP ?API ?OPEN ?SELF
Free, then $4.99 a month
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
Veryfi Expense Management?MCP ?API ?OPEN ?SELF
Free, then $19.99 a seat a month
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
Zoho Expense?MCP ?API ?OPEN ?SELF
Free, then $4 a seat a month
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated
  • Not stated: not stated

tickmarkbooks.com · All 15 accounting software tools with a free plan we list.

Products with a plan that costs nothing for good, not a trial, and what that plan leaves out against the cheapest paid one.

Questions buyers ask

Which tool here costs the least?

14 of the 15 have a free plan: Akaunting, BILL, Everlance, Expensify and Inkle and 9 more. The lowest paid plan is FreeAgent, from about $13 a month. Price checked on 26 October 2026.

How much do accounting software tools with a free plan cost?

Paid plans run from $4 to $49 a month, across the 15 with a monthly price. The median is $19 a month.

When were these prices checked?

We read each price between 26 October 2026 and 28 October 2026 on the maker's own pricing page.

Sources and method

Cheapest month first, the ledger included; products we could not price at the end. How we rank

Every price was read on the maker's own pricing page.

All 15 sources