# The best AI tools for bookkeepers and accounting firms — Tick Mark Books

> Source: https://tickmarkbooks.com/category/accounting-firms (curated, re-verified)
> Updated 31 October 2026 · Reviewed by the Tick Mark Books editorial team

We compare 30 AI tools for bookkeepers and accounting firms as of October 2026. Pennylane has the lowest paid entry price, from about $7.82 a month. 8 have a free plan.

30 tools in this category, ranked by what we can confirm about each (a public price, an API and docs, independent sources, stated limits; payment never changes the order). Each name links to its answer-first markdown twin.

## Facts

- Free to start: 8 of 30
- API: 0 of 30
- First paid plan a month: 28 of 30 publish one, $5 to $350, median $24
- Checked against their own sites: 26–30 October 2026 (30 of 30)
- Added in October 2026: 30

| Name | What it is | Pricing |
| --- | --- | --- |
| [Inkle](https://tickmarkbooks.com/inkle.md) | US accounting software with AI categorization, plus bookkeepers, tax filing and compliance in one app. | Free, then $30 a month |
| [ZipBooks](https://tickmarkbooks.com/zipbooks.md) | Free-forever double-entry books whose machine learning categorizes transactions and learns from your corrections. | Free, then $15 a month |
| [Zoho Books](https://tickmarkbooks.com/zoho-books.md) | Cloud accounting ledger with Zia AI, bank feeds, sales tax and 1099 e-filing, from $20 a month. | Free, then $20 a month |
| [FreeAgent](https://tickmarkbooks.com/freeagent.md) | UK cloud accounting with HMRC filing, bank feeds and AI receipt capture, priced per business type. | From £10 a month (about $13) |
| [Xero](https://tickmarkbooks.com/xero.md) | Small-business ledger with a JAX assistant that answers questions in plain language; unlimited users on every plan. | From $27 a month |
| [Akaunting](https://tickmarkbooks.com/akaunting.md) | Open-source small-business books you host free yourself or run on its cloud, extended by 50+ paid apps. | Free, then $12 a month |
| [Uncat](https://tickmarkbooks.com/uncat.md) | Asks your clients to explain uncategorized transactions, then syncs their answers back into the books. | From $9 a month |
| [Double](https://tickmarkbooks.com/double.md) | Month-end close platform for accounting firms, built on QuickBooks Online and Xero. | From $10 a month |
| [fileLedger by fileAI](https://tickmarkbooks.com/fileai.md) | Agent plans that read invoices and bank statements and post them into your Xero or QuickBooks books. | From $13 a month |
| [FreshBooks](https://tickmarkbooks.com/freshbooks.md) | Double-entry small-business ledger built around invoicing, with a read-only Claude connector for questions. | From $23 a month |
| [Cranston](https://tickmarkbooks.com/cranston.md) | AI prepares draft returns and monthly books inside a firm's own QuickBooks, Xero and tax software. | From $30 a month |
| [Digits](https://tickmarkbooks.com/digits.md) | AI-native general ledger that books and reconciles itself, replacing QuickBooks or Xero for US businesses. | From $65 a month |
| [Pennylane](https://tickmarkbooks.com/pennylane.md) | AI-native invoicing, accounting and business banking for small businesses and their accounting firms. | From €7 a month (about $7.82) |
| [Botkeeper](https://tickmarkbooks.com/botkeeper.md) | Bookkeeping automation an accounting firm runs itself, priced by client entity inside QuickBooks Online or Xero. | From $149 a seat a month |
| [SimpleAI](https://tickmarkbooks.com/simpleai.md) | AI agents that extract, classify and reconcile accounting documents, then publish them into Xero or QuickBooks. | From $79 a month |
| [Booke AI](https://tickmarkbooks.com/booke-ai.md) | An AI bookkeeper that works inside QuickBooks Online and Xero to categorize transactions and match documents. | — |
| [Webgility](https://tickmarkbooks.com/webgility.md) | Posts every marketplace order, fee and payout into QuickBooks or Xero at line-item level, not as a summary. | From $79 a month |
| [BILL](https://tickmarkbooks.com/bill.md) | AP, AR and card spend on one platform, with AI agents that code bills and chase vendor W-9s. | Free, then $49 a seat a month |
| [Dext](https://tickmarkbooks.com/dext.md) | Captures receipts, invoices and statements, codes them and publishes to QuickBooks, Xero or Sage. | From $31.50 a month |
| [DocuClipper](https://tickmarkbooks.com/docuclipper.md) | Converts PDF bank, card and brokerage statements, invoices and receipts into QuickBooks, Xero, Excel or CSV. | From $29 a month |
| [Expensify](https://tickmarkbooks.com/expensify.md) | Receipt scanning, company cards, bill pay and reimbursements that feed QuickBooks, Xero or NetSuite. | Free, then $5 a seat a month |
| [Glean.ai](https://tickmarkbooks.com/glean-ai.md) | Accounts payable automation with invoice-level vendor-spend intelligence. | From $295 a month billed annually |
| [Hubdoc](https://tickmarkbooks.com/hubdoc.md) | Document capture that extracts data from bills and receipts and publishes them into Xero or QuickBooks Online. | From $12 a month |
| [Liscio](https://tickmarkbooks.com/liscio.md) | Document management, tax organizers, tax delivery and client portal for accounting and bookkeeping firms. | From $19 a seat a month billed annually |
| [MarginEdge](https://tickmarkbooks.com/marginedge.md) | Restaurant back-office platform: invoice capture and coding, bill pay and daily food-cost reporting. | From $350 a month |
| [Melio](https://tickmarkbooks.com/melio.md) | Bill pay and invoicing for US small businesses, with AI bill capture and QuickBooks, Xero and NetSuite sync. | Free, then $25 a month |
| [Ottimate](https://tickmarkbooks.com/ottimate.md) | AI invoice capture, coding and vendor payments that sync into your accounting system. | On quote |
| [Shoeboxed](https://tickmarkbooks.com/shoeboxed.md) | Receipt scanning app plus a mail-in scanning service, with staff-checked data and automatic mileage tracking. | From $9 a month |
| [Synder](https://tickmarkbooks.com/synder.md) | Posts sales, fees and taxes from 30+ channels into QuickBooks, Xero, NetSuite or Sage Intacct. | From $65 a month |
| [Veryfi Expense Management](https://tickmarkbooks.com/veryfi-expense-management.md) | Receipt and bill capture that reads the paperwork and syncs the expense to QuickBooks or Xero. | Free, then $19.99 a seat a month |

## October in AI tools for bookkeepers and accounting firms

- Prices checked: 29 of 30 tools, on their own pricing pages
- Last checked: 30 Oct, oldest check 26 Oct

## AI tools for bookkeepers and accounting firms compared

| Tool | Price on its site | MCP server | API | Open source | Self-host |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [Inkle](https://tickmarkbooks.com/inkle) | Free, then $30 a month | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| [ZipBooks](https://tickmarkbooks.com/zipbooks) | Free, then $15 a month | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| [Zoho Books](https://tickmarkbooks.com/zoho-books) | Free, then $20 a month | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| [FreeAgent](https://tickmarkbooks.com/freeagent) | From about $13 a month | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| [Xero](https://tickmarkbooks.com/xero) | From $27 a month | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| [Akaunting](https://tickmarkbooks.com/akaunting) | Free, then $12 a month | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| [Uncat](https://tickmarkbooks.com/uncat) | From $9 a month | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| [Double](https://tickmarkbooks.com/double) | From $10 a month | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| [fileLedger by fileAI](https://tickmarkbooks.com/fileai) | From $13 a month | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| [FreshBooks](https://tickmarkbooks.com/freshbooks) | From $23 a month | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| [Cranston](https://tickmarkbooks.com/cranston) | From $30 a month | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| [Digits](https://tickmarkbooks.com/digits) | From $65 a month | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| [Pennylane](https://tickmarkbooks.com/pennylane) | From about $7.82 a month | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| [Botkeeper](https://tickmarkbooks.com/botkeeper) | From $149 a seat a month | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| [SimpleAI](https://tickmarkbooks.com/simpleai) | From $79 a month | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| [Booke AI](https://tickmarkbooks.com/booke-ai) | No list price | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| [Webgility](https://tickmarkbooks.com/webgility) | From $79 a month | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| [BILL](https://tickmarkbooks.com/bill) | Free, then $49 a seat a month | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| [Dext](https://tickmarkbooks.com/dext) | From $31.50 a month | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| [DocuClipper](https://tickmarkbooks.com/docuclipper) | From $29 a month | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| [Expensify](https://tickmarkbooks.com/expensify) | Free, then $5 a seat a month | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| [Glean.ai](https://tickmarkbooks.com/glean-ai) | From $295 a month billed annually | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| [Hubdoc](https://tickmarkbooks.com/hubdoc) | From $12 a month | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| [Liscio](https://tickmarkbooks.com/liscio) | From $19 a seat a month billed annually | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| [MarginEdge](https://tickmarkbooks.com/marginedge) | From $350 a month | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| [Melio](https://tickmarkbooks.com/melio) | Free, then $25 a month | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| [Ottimate](https://tickmarkbooks.com/ottimate) | On quote | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| [Shoeboxed](https://tickmarkbooks.com/shoeboxed) | From $9 a month | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| [Synder](https://tickmarkbooks.com/synder) | From $65 a month | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| [Veryfi Expense Management](https://tickmarkbooks.com/veryfi-expense-management) | Free, then $19.99 a seat a month | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |

All 30 AI tools for bookkeepers and accounting firms we list.

## Narrow it down

- [Xero](https://tickmarkbooks.com/best/accounting-firms/xero): 18
- [Cost at 100 transactions a month](https://tickmarkbooks.com/best/accounting-firms/cost-100): 17
- [Free trial or free plan](https://tickmarkbooks.com/best/accounting-firms/free): 9
- [PayPal](https://tickmarkbooks.com/best/accounting-firms/paypal): 9
- [Ledger included](https://tickmarkbooks.com/best/accounting-firms/ledger): 8

AI tools bookkeepers and CPA firms use to keep many clients’ books.

## Questions buyers ask

### Which tool here costs the least?

8 of the 30 have a free plan: Akaunting, BILL, Expensify, Inkle and Melio and 3 more. The lowest paid plan is Pennylane, from about $7.82 a month. Price checked on 27 October 2026.

### How much do AI tools for bookkeepers and accounting firms cost?

Paid plans run from $5 to $350 a month, across the 28 with a monthly price. The median is $24 a month.

### When were these prices checked?

We read each price between 26 October 2026 and 30 October 2026 on the maker's own pricing page.

## Sources and method

Cheapest month first, the ledger included; products we could not price at the end. [How we rank](https://tickmarkbooks.com/methodology/)

Every price was read on the maker's own pricing page.

- [Akaunting](https://tickmarkbooks.com/akaunting): [akaunting.com/plans](https://akaunting.com/plans), checked 28 October 2026
- [BILL](https://tickmarkbooks.com/bill): [bill.com/product/pricing](https://www.bill.com/product/pricing), checked 28 October 2026
- [Botkeeper](https://tickmarkbooks.com/botkeeper): [botkeeper.com/pricing](https://www.botkeeper.com/pricing), checked 28 October 2026
- [Cranston](https://tickmarkbooks.com/cranston): [cranston.ai/pricing](https://cranston.ai/pricing), checked 27 October 2026
- [Dext](https://tickmarkbooks.com/dext): [dext.com/us/business/pricing](https://dext.com/us/business/pricing), checked 27 October 2026
- [Digits](https://tickmarkbooks.com/digits): [digits.com/pricing](https://digits.com/pricing/), checked 27 October 2026
- [DocuClipper](https://tickmarkbooks.com/docuclipper): [docuclipper.com/pricing](https://www.docuclipper.com/pricing/), checked 28 October 2026
- [Double](https://tickmarkbooks.com/double): [doublehq.com/pricing-plans](https://doublehq.com/pricing-plans/), checked 27 October 2026
- [Expensify](https://tickmarkbooks.com/expensify): [expensify.com/pricing](https://www.expensify.com/pricing), checked 26 October 2026
- [fileLedger by fileAI](https://tickmarkbooks.com/fileai): [file.ai/platform/fileledger](https://www.file.ai/platform/fileledger), checked 28 October 2026
- [FreeAgent](https://tickmarkbooks.com/freeagent): [freeagent.com/pricing](https://www.freeagent.com/pricing/), checked 26 October 2026
- [FreshBooks](https://tickmarkbooks.com/freshbooks): [freshbooks.com/pricing](https://www.freshbooks.com/pricing), checked 28 October 2026
- [Glean.ai](https://tickmarkbooks.com/glean-ai): [glean.ai/plans](https://www.glean.ai/plans), checked 30 October 2026
- [Hubdoc](https://tickmarkbooks.com/hubdoc): [hubdoc.com/pricing](https://www.hubdoc.com/pricing), checked 27 October 2026
- [Inkle](https://tickmarkbooks.com/inkle): [inkle.ai/pricing](https://www.inkle.ai/pricing), checked 27 October 2026
- [Liscio](https://tickmarkbooks.com/liscio): [liscio.me/pricing](https://www.liscio.me/pricing), checked 27 October 2026
- [MarginEdge](https://tickmarkbooks.com/marginedge): [marginedge.com/pricing](https://www.marginedge.com/pricing/), checked 27 October 2026
- [Melio](https://tickmarkbooks.com/melio): [melio.com/pricing](https://melio.com/pricing/), checked 26 October 2026
- [Ottimate](https://tickmarkbooks.com/ottimate): [ottimate.com/terms-of-service](https://ottimate.com/terms-of-service/), checked 27 October 2026
- [Pennylane](https://tickmarkbooks.com/pennylane): [pennylane.com/fr/tarifs](https://www.pennylane.com/fr/tarifs), checked 27 October 2026
- [Shoeboxed](https://tickmarkbooks.com/shoeboxed): [shoeboxed.com/pricing](https://www.shoeboxed.com/pricing), checked 26 October 2026
- [SimpleAI](https://tickmarkbooks.com/simpleai): [simpleaiworks.com/en/pricing](https://simpleaiworks.com/en/pricing), checked 27 October 2026
- [Synder](https://tickmarkbooks.com/synder): [synder.com/pricing](https://synder.com/pricing/), checked 29 October 2026
- [Uncat](https://tickmarkbooks.com/uncat): [support.uncat.com/help/articles/0868810-uncat-has-a-free-7-day-trial](https://support.uncat.com/help/articles/0868810-uncat-has-a-free-7-day-trial), checked 28 October 2026
- [Veryfi Expense Management](https://tickmarkbooks.com/veryfi-expense-management): [veryfi.com/plans-pricing](https://www.veryfi.com/plans-pricing/), checked 27 October 2026
- [Webgility](https://tickmarkbooks.com/webgility): [webgility.com/pricing](https://www.webgility.com/pricing), checked 28 October 2026
- [Xero](https://tickmarkbooks.com/xero): [xero.com/us/pricing-plans](https://www.xero.com/us/pricing-plans/), checked 28 October 2026
- [ZipBooks](https://tickmarkbooks.com/zipbooks): [zipbooks.com/pricing](https://zipbooks.com/pricing/), checked 28 October 2026
- [Zoho Books](https://tickmarkbooks.com/zoho-books): [zoho.com/us/books/pricing](https://www.zoho.com/us/books/pricing/), checked 26 October 2026

## Where next

### Related categories

- [Works with Xero](https://tickmarkbooks.com/category/works-with-xero)
- [Cheapest accounting software](https://tickmarkbooks.com/category/cheapest)
- [Freelancers and the self-employed](https://tickmarkbooks.com/category/freelancers)
- [Small businesses](https://tickmarkbooks.com/category/small-business)
- [Works with QuickBooks Online](https://tickmarkbooks.com/category/works-with-quickbooks)
- [Free accounting software](https://tickmarkbooks.com/category/free-plan)
- [Accounting software](https://tickmarkbooks.com/category/accounting-software)
- [With a bookkeeper checking](https://tickmarkbooks.com/category/with-a-bookkeeper)
